Hello to everyone

Al B

I thought I'd just drop in and say Hi to everyone and introduce myself, I live in Melbourne, Australia and do woodworking as a hobby. I’ve had my cyclone for almost two years and built it from plans, which I downloaded from Bill Pentz’s site. I have to say that I really enjoyed building the cyclone and ductwork and am very happy with it.

I have seen some very impressive cyclone setups in people’s workshops that have posted, some really great ideas, thanks.

I am no expert when it comes to cyclones but am only to happy to share what I know and get great pleasure in learning new techniques and generally talking 'shop'.

Thank you for letting me join your community.

Regards,
Al :)

Great Work!

Great Work!

Hi, Al,

The work you did, and the documentation of the effort, are superb. I can't think of anyone who, upon viewing your gallery, hasn't walked away thinking "Wow!" And most likely learned a few tricks of sheetmetal work as well. Very nice work!

And I still don't have a clue how you got those finished pieces to look so shiny and great after welding them up. They look better than factory made pieces.

One small question: When I installed the little mini, I used an existing hole in the lid as an inspection port, covering it with some Lexan. In use, the combination of the static generated by flowing air and particles coupled with the lid being metal, and that Lexan doesn't seem to dissipate static, means that in short order, both the entire inside surface of the bin's lid and the Lexan view port are coated in a layer of dust, rendering it useless for inspecting the level of chips in the bin.