Chips pulled back out of collection bin?

DylanG

I'm new to dust collection and am in the process of getting my newly installed CV1800 hooked up to all of my machines. I have noticed that when I open a blast gate small wood chips start swirling in the cyclone. I'm assuming that these chips as being picked up out of the collection bin as this is before I operate any machines (I've been using it for about two weeks having hooked up my tablesaw first). It seems like the longer that I have the cyclone running with a open blast gate the more chips get suspended in the cyclone. The chips are swirling in the entire funnel section of cyclone. Once I close the blast gate pretty much all the chips settle into the collection bin. I'm aware from reading here and else where on the internet that chips swirling is fairly common and not necessarily a problem. But I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this or if it sounds like things are functioning properly or not? I think that I'm (finally) getting a good seal on the collection bin lid and flex hose. So far I've not had any chips show up in the filter clear out box. Due to the low ceiling in my basement shop area I'm using a 20 gallon metal trash can as my collection bin and even had to cut the flex hose down to about 4" to fit it under the cyclone.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Dylan

McRabbet

Senior Forum Member