Dust in clean out bin

David01

Hi, I am new to this forum. Thank you for any help.

I am a hobbyist with a small shop. Have had the ClearVue about 4-5
years. From my recollection, I followed all the installation directions- except the obvious blunder with a leak in the dust clean out bin beneath the stacked filters. I have the twin stacked filters from ClearVue.

Just now got motivated to fix the side hatch to the clean out bin-it has not been airtight, and has been spraying small amount of dust out for years. So, I secured that. No more leaks.

My problem has that there has been at least as much dust has been in the clean out bin (maybe a lot more) than in the trash can. I just wasn't in the mood to fix. I just did.

I bought some incense especially for this, and there aren't any other leaks that I can see. Transition b/t the cyclone into the 6" hose and into trash can are and have been good since beginning. Silicone, and the expensive silver 3-4" wide aluminum tape.

This am, I siliconed the top of cyclone to intake housing.

Since everyone is still asleep here, I am unable to see what effect fixing the clean out bin has had.

My questions are:

1) The nice lady @ ClearVue said that it is normal to have a teaspoon of dust in the clean out bin......Wow...I had mega....is a tsp what everyone else has?

2) can I have a heavy duty lawn bag inside my trash can, as I have had for years (ie-is this turbulence in the trash can the problem with all the dust in the clean out bin?)

Thank You,
David

David,