Issue with Motor Overloading

jweiss

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting ever on any forum, but anyways here I go. I called Clear Vue tech support this morning and left a voicemail. I realize this is a humble operation, so I figure I should throw up my details to see if the community can help me out. Hopefully I am posting this in the correct place - an issues section doesn't exist that I could find.

Issue:
When running system with (1) 6 inch gate open, the motor rpm drops until the start capacitor kicks in and rebounds in a cyclic pattern. I shut the unit down after realizing what was going on - probably two kicks of the starting cap. After letting the motor cool for an hour, I added 2 4 inch hoses and a splitter to the same gate, and attached a ammeter. The motor pulls 30 amps in this configuration. At idle (all gates closed) motor pulls 10 amps. Motor is rated at approx 20 amps full load.

Overview:
I have a new CV1700 (with 16" impeller) system I have completed installing as of last week. I took several days to make sure everything has been installed per the included manual. Lower drum is sealed up 100% with silicone, and gasket at the lid. Piping is all 6 inch sewer pipe - about 60' in total for the entire system and sealed with duct tape. 6 installed gates are Clear Vue brand.

Trouble shooting performed:
Upon experiencing the issue above I measured the motor voltage and amps to be normal at idle. The motor is wired 10ga copper romex straight to the panel 40ft away with a 30 amp breaker. Volts measured 240 at idle, 10A. When loaded with (1) 6 inch gate w/ (2) 10' 4"hoses - 240V, 30A.

Impeller is spinning CCW viewed from below. (Correct for this machine)