oneida motor/blower with CVC

toddth

I currently have a 3 phase 3hp leeson motor on an oneida 15" backward incline cast aluminum airfoil blower on their cyclone. I have been using it for several years and constantly cleaning out the filter with fine dust-- much of which has ended up on the wall behind the filter. Can I mount this motor blower on a CVC and be any better than what I have? The current cyclone has an 8" inlet and my most demanding machine is probably a 37" widebelt sander. If I size the cyclone to what CV uses for diameter of blower this would work better on the CV1800 which uses 6" pipe. How do I know if that would be better than what I have? I understand I need to improve tool ports also. Would I be farther ahead to get the CVMAX from the start? Money is a concern but so is getting the right system this time.

This question is of interest to me as well. I'm in pretty much the same boat: an Oneida that lets it all the fine stuff get to the filter. I was considering using my blower (mines a 14 1/4" impeller with a 5HP Leeson) with everything else CV.

Fred, you had already changed the motor out, right? It would boil down to adapting the body to the existing blower. Probably doable. My body attaches to the CV blower with 3 screws into a wood ring, IIRC...it's been 6 years. Or if you got the CV blower housing, I know the motor will mount. I think my fan is 15" . I know it was the one right before Ed started making his own. But it's not the Sheldon unit. Hopefully the guys at CV will see the thread and do some calculations for you to make sure the smaller fan will still work ok. Jim.

Todd and Fred,
You might consider contacting Bill Pentz with these questions. If you look at Bill's fan table (Blower Fan Table) for 6" ducting with a high efficiency cyclone and cartridge filters you will see: