Shopvac/Mini CV06 dust collection for table saw?

chrispitude

Hi all,

I recently purchased a 16 gallon Shopvac "contractor" model at Lowes:

Shop-Vac 16-Gallon 5.75-Peak HP Pump Wet/Dry Vac

I also have a Shopsmith table saw with a 2.5" dust collection port. By itself, it seems to work reasonably well for dust collection. Granted I have never used a dust collector before, so I have no point of reference at all as to what would be bad or good. I like this arrangement because I needed a new Shopvac anyway, and its 2.5" hose end slides snugly right into the Shopvac's port.

I am considering ordering a Mini CV06 and using it with the Shopvac. I would take the 8' long 2.5" Shopvac hose and splice the Mini CV06 in the middle to keep the total hose run short.

Is this a reasonable expectation? I only use the Shopsmith occasionally, so I don't need an industrial solution. I don't have a feel as to whether the Mini would present enough pressure drop to hinder dust collection at the table saw.

Thanks all!

- Chris

Mini + Shopsmith

Mini + Shopsmith

Chris,

I have a Shopsmith also, and note all the SPTs are set up for the 2.5" hose. Modifying them for anything larger is problematic at best. So the Mini seems the ideal choice, and I urge you to go have a look in the photo gallery.

I ended up acquiring both the Mini plus the CV1800, as I also have other tools that can benefit from the large unit.

In the gallery where I detailed my Mini installation, note I tested the setup via running some wood through the Shopsmith planer, mounted on the Mark V. I was pleased with the result.

The link to my gallery, and hopefully it'll work, is: http://www.gallery2.clearvuecyclones.com/v/Mini+CV06/DWDs-CV-06-Mini/

I used an old shop vac for the barrel, but others have used 5 gallon buckets, made their own from sheet plastic, or used other, garbage can sort of things.