using attic space

anderson958

Hello all,

I'm new to all this, and am planning for a cyclone--haven't purchased it yet, but am getting wiring and planning done first. Here's my question: has anyone gone up into an attic space instead of taking floor space to build a closet for sound proofing? My floor space is limited and I can't really go outside the end of the garage where my shop is to put it outside (I run into the garden :) ). But I do have a full attic over the garage (garage is separate from the house). My ceiling height is 8 1/2 feet, with another 7 feet directly above where I plan to locate the cyclone. Being new to this, though, I'm a bit stumped as to how to make this work. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Carol

Carol,

The considerations to putting a cyclone in the attic include ducting, how you get air to and from the cyclone, and ease of getting to the filters and bin for cleaning and emptying. One interesting solution was John Randle's, here. He split up his system to allow access to what he needed to access, and to vent the filtered air back into his shop.

If your shop is heated or air conditioned, then if your filters are in the attic, the air extracted by the blower will have to come from somewhere, and will make your heater or AC work that much harder.

Also, consider your neighborhood and how your attic is vented. If you're out in the boonies, then not a problem. But if you're in a cheek by jowl neighborhood, and the attic has a gable style vent, then the noise of the system may annoy the neighbors. However, you could build a closet in the attic, lined with insulation, that should make it quiet enough so the issue goes away.

And finally, consider the attic environs. Here in the SC swamps, the humidity on a salt marsh plus the heat make it so things in attics wear out quicker. I'm sorry I let our builder talk us into putting the AC air handlers and water heaters in ours. If you're in a drier and more temperate area, this too, is not an issue for you.