To Stack or not to Stack

Crafted

I have seen a few pictures in the gallery where people have the filters beside each other and not stacked as shown in the standard Clearvue setup pictures. Does it make a difference one way or the other?

Looking at Louie's pictures in the gallery, it appears it is ok for the cleanout to come before the filters. Does this make any difference as the dust settles first in the cleanout and doesn't go through the filters?

I would like to have the filters side by side as it will give me room to install a muffler but if it is better to have the filters stacked then I will go that way.

I also noticed one guy had his filters on their side and somehow had the air go from the outside in to filter as opposed to inside out. Is there any real benefit to run it this way or is it just creating a headache?

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Crafted, I'm not an expert on filters but I don't think it would make any difference to have them stacked or side by side. You would want the air flow going into the side by side ones to be equal and then the air flow and pressure would be the same if stacked or not.
Louie has a nice set up with the filters on top and a large muffler but you are pushing the air through more ductwork. Any chips and dust would settle in the clean out just like having the clean out after the filters.
With the filter on its side and blowing into them from the outside, it looks like the chips and dust would settle to the bottom for easy clean up. I can see how blowing the air into the center with them in a horizontal position would trap chips and dust and make cleaning a real job.
I have mine side by side with a diverter above them where I can divert the exhaust outside or through the filters. You can see my set up at the web site below. I plan to try and put some picture in the Gallery in a couple of days.

Last edited:
Dan,